Our History

The Riverside Community Caucus was founded in 1927 by a group of residents whose goal was to encourage a village government representative  of its residents.

The word Caucus was chosen to exemplify the spirit of a diverse assembly, meeting, and gathering of people as a council. As the organization has evolved, it has embodied the spirit of the word by encouraging the community to participate in the process of our local village government. The Caucus has the involvement and enthusiasm of Riverside’s residents to thank for its longevity and rich history of successfully identifying and endorsing candidates for election by our residents. Long-time and new residents of the community continue the work of the Caucus, finding qualified citizens who are ready and able to serve our village through elected office.   

Riverside’s greatest asset is its residents! Without engaged residents who are ready and able to step into leadership roles, we would not have enjoyed a long history of successful village government.

Our Mission

The Mission of The Riverside Community Caucus is to encourage and facilitate a stable village government. We strive for a diverse membership, and adhere to the following principles:

Village leadership is a responsibility shared across the community, rather than controlled by a minority. Prior to village elections, members gather to identify, nominate, and endorse those in our community who would make the best candidates to meet the needs of our Village and its residents.

Our Board Members

Each board member serves a four-year term and board elections are held every other year. 

Any member may run for an open board position. 

The roles of Chairperson, Secretary, Community Events Director, and Membership Director are elected in one election cycle. The Vice Chairperson, Treasurer, and Communication Director are elected in the alternate election cycle.

You will find information about our board members and their terms below.

Emails to our board may be sent to riversidecommunitycaucus@gmail.com

The Executive Committee


Kimber Coombes


Vice Chairperson

Sandy Briolat



Nilsa Sweetser



Jennifer White


Additional Board Members  

Communication Director

Lisa Janunas


Community Events Director

Pete Durbin


Membership Director

Tim Daly


*Appointed - Completing the remaining term previously held by Director Schultz.

Riverside Community Caucus Bylaws

Adopted on July 26, 2021

RCC Bylaws (2021) final.pdf